Feature Friday: Soca Artist Jashan Hughes

So next up for FF is one of Antigua’s finest, talented, up and coming Soca Divas, Ms. Jashan Hughes. In 2011, she released a hit carnival soca song entitled “Mama No”. I noticed that she’s been sporting a TWA (Teeny Weeny Afro) for a little while now and thought that I would chit chat with her a little to see what she’s been up to with her hair. Sooooo, let’s get started….

IGC: For those that don’t know you, please introduce yourself and tell us how long you’ve been natural.
Hiyaaaaaaaaa!!!! 😀 My name is Jashan Hughes, I’m a Soca Artist and I have been natural for about a year.

IGC: What and or who inspired you to return natural?
There are some persons that I have seen around on facebook, some of them I don’t know personally, like this lady Pestina Hesse, I honestly just admired her because of her NATURAL HAIR! And they’re others like Linisa George, her sister Shiniki George, and finally a young lady by the name of Launesha Barnes. They all have fabulous locked and loose hair and are some of my hair inspirations.

IGC: So you chose to do a BC (Big Chop), how did you feel about your BC at first compared to how you feel about it now?
When I first BC’d, I HONESTLY was afraid to show my head/hair for about 2 weeks so I wore a wig to work. LOL. Now,  I am very much in love with my natural hair and it’s coarseness! Can’t touch this!!!!

IGC: Did you get a lot of negative responses from your family and friends? If so, how did you cope?
I sure did get a lot of negative comments and I’m STILL getting them. Quite frankly, I don’t care! It’s my head, my hair and I LOVE IT! Whoever has a problem with that can close their eye and walk into a fence or something 😀

IGC: Tell us a little about your hair routine and how you keep your hair moisturized?
Well, when I had the low cut I used to use comb through. But now that I have more hair I use Shea Butter (raw) especially for my twist and Design Essentials, Silk Essentials. However, I am still experimenting with products to find what suites me.

IGC: What hairstyle do you rock the most?
I loveeee twist outs! Can’t get enough of them.

IGC: I know that you’re a soca artist and you change up your looks quite often, do you plan on keeping your hair natural or are you just going with the motion?
Natural hair is a keeper for me. I really cannot cope with “permed hair” anymore. The relaxer was breaking and damaging my hair way too much. The weaving and braiding will still be done occasionally, but no more perms or relaxing for this gyal!


IGC: I see that you chose to do a color, do you plan to keep your color in the long run?
I don’t think I’ll be keeping it for any lengthy period of time. This is because the colouring procedure is a pretty harsh one, and I really don’t want to damage my hair in the long run so most likely I’ll grow it out.

IGC: How do you preserve your hair at night?
I usually use a satin cap once they are twisted. If they are not  twisted, child, I just leave it like it is and rub some DE in them in the morning.

That’s a wrap. Thank you so much Jashan! I am truly appreciative your time and consideration of doing this interview. I guess it’s Mamma No More Relaxer…. I’m glad that you have shared your story and I look forward to doing another interview on your hair progress. 

You can also check out some of Jashan’s soca songs on youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FG-p4ALjlhs (Mama No)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3ZN9dw_TzM (Take Me Away)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOwptOgatHw&feature=related (Wuck, Live)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jeYLjoBdnD4 (Make You Smile)

Let’s show Jashan some Love!!!

25 thoughts on “Feature Friday: Soca Artist Jashan Hughes

  1. I really loved this article…. Ive done this before and it was hard for me. Starting to wonder if i can do it again just by reading this story lol

    • Shans anything is possible!!! YES YOU CAN! (I’m beginning to sound like am campaigning for Obama but then again he was all for change : ) ) I went natural twice because first time around I was clueless as to how to take care of my hair but now there’s a wealth of information available on line and it has truly made the difference. Give it another shot if you really want to do it!

    • Thank you Shans, and I was clueless just like Caron and I thought it would have been impossible too, but I stuck with it and it feels great!

  2. got my natural hair all my life…. seeing Jashan’s hair makes me feel proud to be nayural…. its really nice especially the curls….. sick….i love it

  3. I love Jashan she is so sexy…. Like the hair most days…. she has a lot of talent, just needs a break out year and she will be a star…

  4. Jashan has the kind of face where almost any hair style fits her…but i absolutely love the natural on you. Its refreshing and brings a whole different kind of class to your appearance.

    • That’s the plan Tara, and honestly one of the main reasons why I took the natural hair road. And I will most definitely Keep it up 😉

What is your opinion?

