Feature Friday | Meet Dr. Saran P King

IGC: Please introduce yourself.
Hi Caron, thanks for having me. My name is Saran P King and I’m a physician at the Mount St. John’s Medical Centre here in Antigua.

IGC: Tell us your hair story. {Why have you stayed natural for so long?}
I have been natural most of my life, but my “healthy hair journey” only began a bout a year ago. I have always loved my hair and all the curls it had, which is why it has been natural for the most part but I longed for a change. I never liked to see my hair bone straight so I decided to texturize my hair about eight years ago hoping it would still have some curl to it. That was an EPIC FAIL. LoL! My worst nightmare came true and the texturizer made my hair, you guessed it, bone straight. I was so upset with myself and I began the journey of long term transitioning from the moment I stepped out of the salon, lol. It took about a year for all the texturizer to grow out and I kept it in its natural state for a year and a half.

Once again, longing for a change, I decided to give the texturizer another chance and this time it turned out exactly as I imagined: curly, soft and full of bounce. I kept the texturizer, retouching 2-3 times a year, but not knowing how to take care of my hair back then, I experienced severe breakage after two years. Once again I long term transitioned and have been natural ever since and loving every bit of it.

IGC: Who or what is your hair inspiration?
Wow, that is a tough question and the list of persons would be almost endless. But I would say number one on the list would be You, :). I remember seeing your hair in a wash and go some time ago and drooling over all the curls in your hair and wanting that for my hair too, then you introduced me to YouTube. I became a YouTube fanatic and went crazy with all the beautiful ladies on there. There are too many to mention and I wouldn’t want to single out any one person because I have learnt a lot over the past year and I would say they have all inspired me and taught me on my journey.

IGC: What is your current hair regimen and some of your favorite hair products to use?
I wash my hair every week, sometimes twice a week depending on how I style my hair or what products I use during the week. Every other week with shampoo and conditioner and every other week with just conditioner. I deep condition every week, put in my home made leave in moisturizer, then make medium to large size two or three strand twist most of the time.

My favorite products to use other than water would have to be 100% shea butter and extra virgin olive oil, both of which are in my home made leave in conditioner. I love them both and so does my hair.

IGC: What are your favorite hairstyles?
My favorite hairstyles would have to be mini two strand twists (which I don’t do much of these days because it takes too long :() and the simple bun.

IGC: Do you have a hair goal?
My two main hair goals are to have healthy hair and to have waist length hair.

IGC: Name five things you love about your natural hair the most.

  1. I love the way my hair curls up when it’s wet and when I do a wash and go
  2. I love the fact that it is 100% my hair growing from my scalp
  3. I don’t have to worry about sweating it out when exercising
  4. That it doesn’t matter if it gets wet when it rains or if I go to the beach
  5. That I have the option of a straight look without committing to a texturizer or a perm

IGC: What has been the hardest part of your journey thus far?
The hardest part was mostly at the beginning, trying to keep my hair moisturized but now that I better understand my hair it has been much easier and I know exactly what my hair needs.
IGC: What are some other challenges you face in your hair journey?
My biggest challenge is coming up with new hairstyles. My hair is in twist most of the time and struggle to come up with something new.

Another challenge I face is dealing with single strand knots. My hair has to be throughly detangled weekly and moisturized twice a day to help reduce knots from forming.

IGC: Do you see natural hair becoming more popular in the mass media or are relaxers set to still be dominant in the coming years?
I have seen and I am seeing natural hair becoming more and more popular as the years go by. More people are returning natural for whatever reason and being criticized less for doing so. I do believe in the coming years there will be more people with natural hair than with relaxers.

IGC: What advice can yo give to someone who is natural, transitioning or contemplating the idea of returning natural?
The first piece of advice I would give is to ignore all the negative feedback that you may get from other people, especially friends and family and do your research.

Secondly, don’t compare your hair to anybody’s hair because every head of hair is unique and beautiful in its own way.

Lastly, embrace, understand and love the hair that was given to you.

IGC: Where can we find your presence online?
Well Caron, I recently started a blog. It’s about living a healthy lifestyle from inside out.

Blog: antiguabarbudagirl.wordpress.com.

YouTube Channel: AntiguaBarbudaGirl

Twitter: AntiguaBarbudaG

Facebook: Saran P King

Email: antiguabarbudagirl@live.com

Saran I would love to thank you for doing this interview with me. It’s always a good feeling to know that I’ve inspired someone to love and embrace their natural hair and to even return natural in some instances. 

Ladies let’s show Saran some love.  Please leave a comment and don’t forget to rate, like, subscribe and share. Also, head on over to Saran’s blog where she writes about health and life. 

2 thoughts on “Feature Friday | Meet Dr. Saran P King

  1. I love the texture of your hair and futher I appreciate the point of not comparing our hair to others, EBRACE it!!! – Nice!!!!

    • I love her hair texture as well. I try not to compare my hair to others. It’s so unhealthy to do that. Just love and work with what you have. But one thing I have to say is that Saran gets a pretty mean stretch when she flat irons her hair. My hair is usually a disaster after a flat iron. It just looks blow dried. Saran love the straight look as well.

What is your opinion?

