30 Years Old In 30 Days!

Photo Credit – nightcruiser.com.au

Yes in 30 days I’ll be 30 years old and as I reflect on my twenties I wondered, “Does time really fly this fast”? I remember my childhood as if it happened yesterday. Can hardly believe that my twenties is almost over. However, it is indeed a privilege and an honor to see 30 years of life. I just have to say “thank you Jesus for blessing me and carrying me through these years”. If it had not been for the Lord I don’t know where I would be today.

Something very tragic happened to me just after I celebrated my 16th birthday and since then I didn’t really celebrate birthdays. I never really had any big parties or surprises on my birthday and last year I decided that I would start celebrating because its my right. I can’t hold on to something from the past and let it rob me of my future. However, last year didn’t go so well either and I thought about giving up on celebrating birthdays. But why should I? I made a deal with myself that this year is gonna be the year that I enjoy every bit down to the last second of it. I’ll let you know how it goes.

So one day I was talking to my friend and I was telling her that I didn’t really feeI accomplished and  don’t know why I should even celebrate the big 3-0 this year. I don’t have a husband nor a child or even landed my dream job as yet. And then she said something very profound to me. She asked “who put a cap on it? Who said that by 30 you have to have all of these things”? Then I began to think she’s right. I started to think less about the physical and more about the intangible. I’ve travelled a whole lot, made great friends and created solid friendships, gotten a solid education, etc. I have those things to celebrate. By the way, MY BEST IS YET TO COME!

There are so many things in my past that I would like to finally close the door on. A new life awaits me. And I know God has something spectacular planned for my life. I can’t and I refuse to carriage baggage into my thirties. “Lord I open up my heart and hands to receive all the blessings  you have in stored for me.” I feel as though I’ve grown so much during my twenties that I’m prepared. God was preparing me for all the fabulousness that awaits me. He’s the potter and I’m the clay. I’m being molded.

Finally, the people that I would love to spend my birthday with this year are people that go all the way back. My family, my friends that I’ve grown up with, high school friends, college friends, university friends and the other angels that were sent in my life. Some of the people that I would love to celebrate with can’t be here with me but I know if they could have they would have. In the future I hope that we can do more celebrating together. You guys are priceless and mean a lot to me. Your ongoing presence and support in my life has been not only been greatly appreciated but is also indispensable.

30 years old….whew! It sure has been a long road. But through all the laughter and tears, the good and the bad, I wouldn’t change a minute of my life. Every second has taught me valuable lessons. Goodbye 20s. 30s I WELCOME YOU :D.

6 thoughts on “30 Years Old In 30 Days!

  1. Ofcourse I’m up! Twenties were the years for questions and uncertainty. Thirties are the years for answers and confidence. You don’t get to be old and wise without first being young and foolish……
    Embrace everything God has in store for you. You are indeed prepared!
    I love you and I always will.
    Go with God!

    • Indeed you were up pretty late. lOl!! And you are correct. I love how u put it. Older, Wiser, Stronger. I’ll always remember you for that saying. It goes w/o saying that you are one of those indispensable ppl to me. I love you too hunney and always will. **Hugs**

  2. God is not through with you yet. He is still molding you. I didn’t grow up with you or have been around you, but I feel as though I have known you all my life. I didn’t get to know God personally until 7 years ago. I have never seen Him, but I know that I love Him and His Son Jesus. I feel the same about you. Enjoy the life God has planned for you. I love you cousin Caron. God is truly blessing you. Continue to do His will. 🙂

    • Fran I feel the same way about you. Thank you for loving me unconditionally. And I’m glad that you got to God for yourself. Isn’t His love awesome. I know God is still using me, can’t wait for my other blessings to unfold. Love you Fran!

  3. Your friend’s comment is so true, ‘who put a cap on it’. There is much pressure to achieve things by a certain time, but we never truly know what God has in store for us.
    Things can only get greater and better 🙂

    • Indeed there is so much pressure as to what you can and should achieve by a certain age. Rome wasn’t built in a day and neither was I. I learnt to appreciate all the things that come along my journey. Destination: Heaven. Can’t get any better than that!
      Thank you for reading! 😀

What is your opinion?

