2013 Blowout Comparison

I haven’t blogged about my hair in recent times but I do take pics from time to time. Below is a blowout comparison for the last six months. I missed a month – April. Didn’t capture a pic but that does not mean that I didn’t blow out my hair. Probably was busy or sleepy. X_X

2013 blowout comparison

Here’s the thing with blow drying – if you do it too often like I did, your hair will break eventually from the constant heat. To be very honest, I haven’t really taken great care of my hair over the last year as I did two years before. Why? I’ve been living life on the go! I know I need to slow down and I’m really trying to. I’ve lessened my activities for the rest of the year so hopefully that should help.

So here’s what happened. Because I was always busy during the day, I tend to wash my hair at night or on a Sabbath morning before church. Not wanting to sleep with wet hair and have a bad twist out the next day, most times I blow out my hair before twisting. I know, I know, I know I can diffuse my hair but “ain’t nobody got time fa dat”!

Blownout Twist

Though I always use heat protectant, I was blowing out my hair way to often so it still experienced some damage. In March photo above, I didn’t look too happy right? That’s because I started to experience some damage on the left side of my hair. You can see that it is much shorter than the right side. The price I pay for using the blow dryer every week!

It doesn’t seem like I’ve experienced much growth this year either, but I’ll attribute that to the constant heat application. So now instead of blowing out my hair every week, I’ll opt for once a month. That should help to reduce the damage. I also have some raggedy ends which I will also attribute to the heat but I’ll leave that for another post.

What I’ve learned thus far for the year is something I’ve known even before returning natural – less heat<more growth=healthier hair (in conjunction with other best practices).

How often do you use heat on your hair? Do you experience heat damage in any form?

Until next time – back away slowly from the blow dryer and happy growing!

One thought on “2013 Blowout Comparison

  1. Blow drying – “ain’t nobody got time fa dat”! LOL. I hate blow drying my own hair so I don’t do it at all. I’m tempted to visit my hairdresser (John Clarke) to have it blown out and flat ironed to see how it looks and how long it will last but I keep putting it off. Most times we know what works for our hair and the best practices but we ignore anyway especially when life gets in the way. We’ve gotta stick to it.

    P. S. – I have missed the blogging

What is your opinion?

